Cattle Today

Cattle Today



Fort Worth, Texas -- The Livestock Publications Council (LPC) has announced winners of their special awards during the Agricultural Media Summit (AMS) held in Tampa, Fla.

Greg Henderson, Drovers, located in Lenexa, Kan., and Bud Snidow, retired from the American Hereford Association, Kansas City, Mo., were honored for their years of service to the livestock industry and LPC.

Henderson was inducted into the LPC Hall of Fame which is an honor reserved for those who have adhered to high standards of professionalism in all aspects of their careers and their dedication to LPC. A graduate of Kansas State University, he had been with Drovers for eight years when he was named editor of the publication in 1992, becoming only the fourth person to hold that position since 1920. In 1995 he was promoted to Associate Publisher/Editor. Greg is a former LPC President and was one of the driving forces to develop the Ag Media Summit. He led the group as chairman of the first two conventions and served on the steering committee for five years. His dedication to LPC has been evident in his participation on numerous committees through the years. He and his wife, Ruth, have two children, Lisa and Jared. Raised on a ranch in the southern Flint Hills of Kansas, Greg remains actively involved in beef production as part owner of the family operation.

The Headliner Award honors a person from outside the livestock publishing field for actions that produce a positive change in livestock production and marketing. This year's winner is Burman Cephas Snidow Jr., better known as Bud. He joined the American Hereford Association in 1951, and spent the next 32 years with the organization. He worked on the field staff, managed the records department and was AHA's assistant secretary. Because of his experience with international marketing, Bud was also asked to serve as the U.S. Beef Breeds Coordinator and promoter of U.S. cattle marketing. He served in this role until he was 72. Bud continues to serve as the “AHA Historian,” and even now at 90, can often be found working in the Hereford museum.

On October 31, LPC will hosts its fifth annual LPC Royal Gala in Kansas City during the American Royal where these two honorees will have their portraits unveiled and hung permanently in the Hall of Honor which is located in the headquarters of the American Royal.     

The winner of the Forrest Bassford Student Award was presented to Lindsay Domer, Kansas State University. She was awarded $2000 and chosen based on the combination of her written application and on on-site interviews. Three other travel winners were presented with $750 stipends which allowed them to attend the AMS this year. The winners of the travel awards were Julie White, Kansas State University; Emily Whitmoyer, Texas A&M University; and Sarah Jackson, University of Missouri-Columbia.

Recognized with the Distinguished Service Award for her dedication and service to LPC was Lori Maude, Gelbvieh World, Westminster, Colo. She is a past president of LPC and has served on numerous committees through the years. Maude was also instrumental in the first Agricultural Media Summit held 10 years ago in Denver, Colo. She is a native of South Dakota and graduate of South Dakota State University.

The award for the Most Improved Publication went to Progressive Dairyman based in Jerome, Idaho.

LPC is a non-profit international organization serving the dynamic livestock communications industry. Its goal is to provide a forum through which members can obtain information on how to improve their overall effectiveness and value to both readers and advertisers. For more information on LPC and its services or membership please contact LPC, Diane Johnson, Executive Director, 910 Currie Street, Fort Worth, Texas 76107; 817/336-1130;


Send mail to with questions or comments about this web site.
Copyright © 1998-2008 CATTLE TODAY, INC.