Cattle Today

Cattle Today



Kansas City, Mo. The 2008 North American International Livestock Exposition (NAILE) showcased 207 Herefords during the national Hereford show Nov. 20 in Louisville, Ky. Tom Farrer, Royal Center, Ind., judged the event.

Grand champion and spring yearling champion heifer honors went to William Passwaters, Bridgeville, Del., with Purple Cotton 40T ET. The March 26, 2007, daughter of LaGrand Reload 80P ET was also named grand champion in the junior show Nov. 16. Reserve grand and fall calf champion heifer in the open show belonged to Kirbie Day, Waxahachie, Texas, with BR KLD Rose Marie D79 ET, a Sept. 18 daughter of BR Moler ET.

Jason Laudeman, Bremen, Ind., exhibited the grand and senior champion bull, SRF Deal or No Deal ET. He's an Oct. 30, 2006, son of CS Boomer 29F. Selected as the reserve grand and junior calf champion bull was WCC WOF Ironman U302. Chad Wilson, Cloverdale, Ind., and Hunter Hamilton, Heltonville, Ind., own the Feb. 5, 2008, son of WCC Slam Dunk R26 ET.

In the cow-calf division, Matthew Compton, Greenfield, Ind., took top honors with SSF Megan Moler 849, a March 1, 2006, daughter of BR Moler ET. She showed with her May heifer calf by Ramsey's Firewall. Reserve cow-calf honors went to KEB Omega Odyssey 1ETS exhibited by Oak Ledge Farm, Belmont, N.H. The May 14, 2006, daughter of UPS Odyssey 1ET showed with her March bull calf by KT Top Secret 1030.

Premier breeder honors went to Purple Reign Cattle Co., Toulon, Ill. Laudeman exhibited the champion get of sire with progeny sired by CS Boomer 29F. Four L Herefords, Atwood, Tenn., exhibited the best six head and captured the premier exhibitor award.

In the junior show, reserve grand champion honors went to Laken Lierle, Ft. Cobb, Okla., with TCL Gold Laryn 402 by KW Golden Duke.

Additional Division Results

Spring calf champion heifer: Grace Keilty, Cedar, Mich., with CSF BR Gabrielle 8150 ET by DM BR Sooner.

Reserve spring calf champion heifer: Jake Bloomberg, Berwick, Ill., with PHH PCC 202 Keltie 839 ET by CH Enuff Prophet 2913.

Junior calf champion heifer: Purple Reign Cattle Co., Toulon, Ill., with Purple CMCC Nastia 9U by LaGrand Reload 80P ET.

Reserve junior calf champion heifer: Michigan State University, E. Lansing, Mich., with MSU Rachael 6U ET by UPS Odyssey 1ET.

Reserve fall calf champion heifer: Grace Keilty with CSF BR 3060 Abby 7106 ET by BR Lansing 3060.

Intermediate champion heifer: Haley Hartley, Madisonville, Texas, with Redden 5001 Lassie 10T by AB Giacomo 6008 5001 ET.

Reserve intermediate champion heifer: Garth Regula, Fresno, Ohio, with OCC Lady Calypso A59 by OCC Gold Bullion A24.

Reserve spring yearling champion heifer: Karey Howes, Taneytown, Md., with Purple Hennessey 44T ET by BR DM Channing ET.

Junior yearling champion heifer: Bradi Branyan, Assumption, Ill., with TBH 80P Miss Cruel 707 ET by LaGrand Reload 80P ET.

Reserve junior yearling champion heifer: Randa Owen, Ft. Payne, Ala., with Purple Reese 4T by LaGrand Reload 80P ET.

Senior yearling champion heifer: Robbie Dragani, Plymouth, Ind., with SRF Miss Francie ET by CS Boomer 29F.

Reserve senior yearling champion heifer: Dakota Vonderhaar, Eaton, Ohio, with MJB 26P Belle 38S by DJB LLL 8E Benchmark 26P.

Spring bull calf champion: Purple Reign Cattle Co. with Purple Currency 24U ET by BR Moler ET.

Reserve spring bull calf champion: Sarah Stream, Chariton, Iowa, with STRM The Umpire 141U ET by DB Hard Rock ET.

Reserve junior calf champion bull: Oak Ledge Farm, Belmont, N.H., with KEB Harrison Hard Rock 5073U by SR CG Hard Rock 5073.

Fall calf champion bull: Locke St. John, Pell City, Ala., with DCF 5071 Wells Fargo 717T by AB Fargo 6008 5071 ET.

Reserve fall calf champion bull: Adams-Hirsche Herefords, High River, Alta., and Four L Hereford Farm with Four L 279R Wild Bill 7158T by GH Rambo 279R.

Intermediate champion bull: Able Acres, Wingate, Ind., with AA Pricesetter 7146 by AA Hrd Sel Priceless 4115.

Reserve intermediate champion bull: Jeffrey Baker, Beaumont, Miss., with PR BNH Rebel T700 by PR BNH Publisher 03P.

Spring yearling champion bull: Megan Holloway, Lake Kiowa, Texas, and Rotello Cattle Co., Navasota, Texas, with CSH MH Buster 147 by STAR Bright Future 533P ET.

Reserve spring yearling champion bull: Wooden Shoe Farms, Blackfoot, Idaho; Heritage Cattle Co., Buhl, Idaho; TAN Polled Herefords, Rupert, Idaho; and The Bold Ruler Group, Bedford, Ind., with TANWSFHCC 106G47N Bold 742T ET by NJW MC WSF Trail Boss 47N ET.

Reserve senior champion bull: Four L Hereford Farm and Herbert Doan, Dandridge, Tenn., with Four L 285M Zoloman 6088S ET by CL 1 Domino 285M.


Send mail to with questions or comments about this web site.
Copyright 1998-2008 CATTLE TODAY, INC.