The 2011-2012 National Junior Angus Association Board of Directors was announced Friday evening, July 15, 2011, during closing ceremonies at the 2011 National Junior Angus Show (NJAS) in Harrisburg, Pa.

Voting delegates selected six candidates to join the board, including: Megan Ahearn, Wills Point, Texas; Meghan Blythe, White City, Kansas; Jennifer Ewing, Rushville, Ill.; Kelli Retallick, Glen Haven, Wis.; JanLee Rowlett, Hurricane Mills, Tenn.; and Sally Yon, Ridge Spring, S.C.

Ahearn has held many leadership positions within the Texas Junior Angus Association and is pursuing a degree in marketing with a minor in management at the University of Texas in Austin. She is the daughter of Mark and Cindy Ahearn.

Blythe has been a member of the Kansas Junior Angus Association for the past 10 years and will assume the role of president in 2011. Blythe is the daughter of Duane and Debbie Lyons-Blythe and will be a junior this fall at Kansas State University with a degree in agricultural economics/pre-law, with plans to become a lobbyist.

Ewing is a fourth-generation Angus breeder and is the daughter of Eric and Stephanie Ewing. She has been involved in the NJAA and Illinois Junior Angus Association for more than 10 years. Ewing recently obtained her associate degree from Lincoln Land Community College and will attend the University of Illinois in the fall to pursue a degree in agricultural and consumer economics with hopes of becoming a lawyer.

Retallick has served in various leadership roles in the Wisconsin Junior Angus Association. She is a junior at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, majoring in animal sciences and is the daughter of Kevin and Keri Retallick.

Rowlett has been involved in the NJAA and Tennessee Junior Angus Association for 12 years and is currently serving on the 2012 National Junior Angus Show Planning Committee. She is the daughter of Buddy and Kelley Rowlett and will be entering her junior year this fall at Oklahoma State University with a degree in animal sciences and a minor in agricultural economics.

Yon is the daughter of Kevin and Lydia Yon and has been involved in the NJAA and her state association. She will be a junior at Clemson University with a major in agricultural education and a minor in animal sciences.

Junior Board members entering their second year were elected to officer positions. Clay Williams, Bishop, Ga., was named chairman; Austin Brandt, Corning, Iowa, was named vice chairman; Alisha Nord, Wolverton, Minn., was named communications director; Lindsey Grimes, Hillsboro, Ohio, was named Foundation director; Garrett Knebel, Winamac, Ind., was named leadership director; and Shane Clary, Brodnax, Va., was named membership director.

Board members ending their terms on the junior board included:

Britney Creamer, Montrose, Colo.; Cody Smith, West Plains, Mo.; Jennifer Ann Smith, Elysian Fields, Texas; Clinton Laflin, Olsburg, Kan.; Danielle Foster, Niles, Mich.; and Jaclyn Upperman, Chambersburg, Pa.

“The six outgoing officers worked hard during their time on the board and made an impact that cannot be overlooked. They have served as mentors and leaders to juniors and I know they will continue to positively impact the Angus industry,” says Robin Ruff, American Angus Association director of junior activities. “I am looking forward to working with the new board and continuing to help young Angus breeders grow.”

NJAS closing ceremonies also included the announcement of contest placings, awards and scholarships. Visit www.angus.org for more information, including videos, show results and photos. Coverage is also available on the National Junior Angus Association Facebook fan page. Backdrop and candid photos are available for purchase at www.angus.digitaleventsonline.com.

Don't forget to BOOKMARK  
Cattle Today Online!