School shop made culvert roller packer

Discuss your favorite brand and how to fix it.
customcattle
Cowhand
Cowhand

School shop made culvert roller packer

Postby customcattle » Wed May 04, 2016 9:46 am

So I have been needing a roller packer to prepare a couple of small fields (10 acres and under) to plant alfalfa, and also to use when working up my roping arena at home. I have priced them and just couldn't justify the cost for the use that I will be getting out of it. I know I'm not the first one to do it, but I wanted to show y'all the roller packer me and my students (I'm an Ag Teacher too) put together this last week using some 2-3/8" drill stem pipe and a 12'x12" culvert. It turned out pretty slick. We filled the two 6' chunks of culvert with sand so each wound up weighting about 400 pounds.

0 x

M-5
GURU
GURU

Re: School shop made culvert roller packer

Postby M-5 » Wed May 04, 2016 10:16 am

very cool , Ive had the same Idea of using culvert pipe.
0 x
"Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought." JFK

Nesikep
Mentor
Mentor

Postby Nesikep » Wed May 04, 2016 10:28 am

Depending on what you're rolling, it isn't nearly big enough... I don't think it's nearly heavy enough, and if you ever get into loose soil with it, it'll start piling up rather than packing it...
We built a 10' roller out of what seems to be a big propane tank, about 4' diameter, 3/4" wall and 2 1/2" shaft through it... Weighs about 3000 lbs empty, and can be filled with water, putting its weight closer to 8000 lbs.. Great thing about it is even if it gets into loose soil, it doesn't push dirt ahead of it, it pushes it down.
I'll see if I can find a picture, or I'll take one
0 x
What can be asserted without evidence can be dismissed without evidence
-Christopher Hitchens

customcattle
Cowhand
Cowhand

Postby customcattle » Wed May 04, 2016 10:42 am