Converted Horse Trailer

Discuss your favorite brand and how to fix it.
slick4591
GURU
GURU

Converted Horse Trailer

Postby slick4591 » Tue Feb 06, 2018 8:56 pm

Up front: I have zero experience with a two horse trailer. So, is there any reason why I couldn't convert a two horse trailer into smaller cattle trailer? Since my breed is not as popular as some I normally have to haul long distances to buy the heifers I want. Going to NE Georgia mid-summer to bring one, maybe two bred heifers home. All I have is a 16' WW that's pretty heavy and I'm thinking I could shave off fuel charges by having a lighter trailer for the smaller runs. I also haul a little for others, let's say friends, so I could maybe justify the extra expense. I'm thinking something along the line of just removing the divider and hitting the road? Or, is there going to be more to it?
0 x
"If the mountain were smooth you couldn't climb it." ~ unknown

M-5
GURU
GURU

Re: Converted Horse Trailer

Postby M-5 » Tue Feb 06, 2018 9:04 pm

I see no reason why not.
0 x
"Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought." JFK

ALACOWMAN
Mentor
Mentor

Postby ALACOWMAN » Tue Feb 06, 2018 9:27 pm

For 2 that's a long haul, in a small space..I hauled a couple horses from your area back in the 80s.. Stopped in Meridian Ms.. And walked and watered them.let em stretch...your gonna have to water them,,especially that time of year...are you driving straight through???
0 x
Santa Claus, the ultimate Yankee....

Bigfoot
Mentor
Mentor

Postby Bigfoot » Tue Feb 06, 2018 9:40 pm

As long as they cant jump over the back doors, and have air flow, your good to go. Granted, it was hauling a horse not a cow, but I've traveled the world with a two horse straight load. Slept in one countless times, and took a whores bath in a bucket in there to. Slap a trash bag in the bucket, and you've got a toilet.
0 x
A tumble bug makes a hard livin. Why? Cause that's just the way be nice is.

callmefence
GURU
GURU