Is Beef a Heavily Subsidized Product

Discuss upcoming sales and sale results.
HDRider
GURU
GURU

Is Beef a Heavily Subsidized Product

Postby HDRider » Mon Oct 09, 2017 6:17 am

I am still very new to the game and have years of learning ahead of me. As I have started I have seen the costs involved in starting and running an operation. I am still some distance away from my ultimate production goal.

My question is - How many producers operate at a profit? I am asking more related to cow/calf and maybe stocker and backgrounder operations. I am not asking about feed lots. I am not asking about registered seed stock, bulls, etc.

My guess at this point is beef is highly subsidized by the producer at certain stages of production. Subsidized by the producer means they (we, me) we are operating at a recurring loss.

I know some do this for tax purposes. I am not asking if it helps for tax purposes on other non-beef businesses.

I have been in other businesses (manufacturing) for many years. I understand very well about managing cost, capital expenses, operating expenses and all that.

So when you consider labor (yours, your wife and kids, along with hired help), capital (land, machinery, improvements) and operating expenses (feed, medicine, vet, death loss, etc.) are you in the black, or are we feeding America on our dime?
0 x
bball wrote: "The juice wasn't worth the squeeze."
Dun said, "You gotta be flexible. Do whatever you have to do for the best results within your limitations."

kenny thomas
GURU
GURU

Re: Is Beef a Heavily Subsidized Product

Postby kenny thomas » Mon Oct 09, 2017 6:36 am

Any profit i have goes back into better fencing, buildings, more land. I keep adding to what's there so they can tax it more. Trying to help out the government. But mostly I do it because i enjoy it. I don't vacation unless,its taking a day off work to go to a cattle sale.
2 x
My thoughts only, don't bet the farm on them. KT