Wheat hay in oklahoma

Discuss grasses and how to grow and harvest them.
CTH
Beginner
Beginner

Wheat hay in oklahoma

Postby CTH » Sat Nov 25, 2017 10:44 pm

Hi, I’m a rookie cattle farmer small herd and only 8 years experience, I have recently found a guy locally bailing wheat hay and I’m considering purchasing some for a winter supplement. Id like any help and feed back on what you think ive researched and found Thant this hay could possibly be high in protein but I haven’t tested it . One of my concerns is the time of year it is baled in, should i be concerned? Btw it looks like it was in the boot stage no seed yet .

Thank you for all your help I’m learning everyday and my ignorance is due to inexperience :D
0 x

TexasBred
Mentor
Mentor

Re: Wheat hay in oklahoma

Postby TexasBred » Sun Nov 26, 2017 6:52 pm

CTH wrote:Hi, I’m a rookie cattle farmer small herd and only 8 years experience, I have recently found a guy locally bailing wheat hay and I’m considering purchasing some for a winter supplement. Id like any help and feed back on what you think ive researched and found Thant this hay could possibly be high in protein but I haven’t tested it . One of my concerns is the time of year it is baled in, should i be concerned? Btw it looks like it was in the boot stage no seed yet .

Thank you for all your help I’m learning everyday and my ignorance is due to inexperience :D

Have it tested then you'll know what is in that bale.
0 x
A dung beetle walks into a bar, looks around and says "Is this stool taken"????

1982vett
GURU
GURU

Postby 1982vett » Sun Nov 26, 2017 7:56 pm

Boot stage wheat should be some pretty good hay barring crappy weather during curing. 40 years ago Dad took it at dough stage. Testing is the only way to know for sure.
0 x
Any man who can drive safely while kissing a pretty girl is simply not giving the kiss the attention it deserves. ~Albert Einstein
Never kick a fresh turd on a hot day. ~Harry S. Truman

jedstivers
GURU
GURU