stall or pasture

Horse management, health, feeding and grooming.
jvicars
Cowhand
Cowhand

stall or pasture

Postby jvicars » Sun Oct 21, 2007 10:57 am

i have a nice 5 stall horse barn. i am a new newbie to horses so i have a question. why would i keep the horse in the stall and not the pasture. i have shade in the pasture and the horse seems to enjoy the pasture. the stall seems like a waste unless i am missing something. i am in fl so the weather is easy. thanks.
0 x

ArrowHBrand
Rancher
Rancher

Postby ArrowHBrand » Sun Oct 21, 2007 11:09 am

Depends on a lot of factors. If you want to ride or train a horse every day it's nice if they are in a stall so you can get them easier and quicker. Our horses are outside 24/7 until winter comes then they have the option for shelter, but I've seen a horse stand out in an ice storm when they can go inside and be dry, go figure. Just personal preference I guess. Some people have to stall because they don't have pasture and vice versa.
0 x
"The cow is nothing but trouble tied up in a leather bag." - John Wayne in "The Cowboys"

Running Arrow Bill
GURU
GURU

Postby Running Arrow Bill » Sun Oct 21, 2007 1:47 pm

ArrowHBrand wrote:Depends on a lot of factors. If you want to ride or train a horse every day it's nice if they are in a stall so you can get them easier and quicker. Our horses are outside 24/7 until winter comes then they have the option for shelter, but I've seen a horse stand out in an ice storm when they can go inside and be dry, go figure. Just personal preference I guess. Some people have to stall because they don't have pasture and vice versa.

And, I'll add this: