Fence Project with Tornado Wire

Share knowledge or ideas about doing anything and everything.
User avatar
Bright Raven
GURU
GURU
Posts: 3169
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 10:57 pm
Location: Kentucky

Re: Fence Project with Tornado Wire

Postby Bright Raven » Fri Aug 11, 2017 10:14 pm

greybeard wrote:"If I had even slight narrowing of a coronary artery, I think it would have revealed itself"
Oh it will, believe me..but probably not like the ones you see on TV and in the movies...you'll likely feel 'out of sorts' one day, eventually go to the doc, he'll run some tests and come back and ask you when you had your heart attack(s)


My brother one year older. Was recently hauling rock off a field. That evening, he said he hurt all over and like you said, "he felt out of sorts". It was worse the next day. He went to the hospital and they did an EKG. Fine. They did a stress test. Fine. Sent him home. He went out to piddle on his farm the next day and felt awful. Went back to the hospital and the Doctor ordered an angiogram. He had an obstructed coronary artery. Put in a stint.
0 x

User avatar
Bright Raven
GURU
GURU
Posts: 3169
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 10:57 pm
Location: Kentucky

Re: Fence Project with Tornado Wire

Postby Bright Raven » Mon Aug 14, 2017 9:39 am

Farm Fence Solutions wrote:
callmefence wrote:Good deal.

I think 30 inches for a stiffener post set that way will be alright. Definitely not deep enough for a brace post.


I agree. You should be far enough south to keep them in the ground. If you do get any heave with them, skip the concrete next time.


Luke.

Putting in another big post cut from a power pole on the far west end. I rarely hit rock but I did here. Used the spud bar to work them out but the resulting hole is probably 30 inches across. I am going to use concrete because dirt cannot be packed in enough without an Herculean effort.

Lots of creosote still evident in this post so should last as long as I do.
0 x

User avatar
Bigfoot
Mentor
Mentor
Posts: 11105
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2012 6:31 pm
Location: Kentucky

Re: Fence Project with Tornado Wire

Postby Bigfoot » Mon Aug 14, 2017 11:58 am

My dad worked at the power company as a lineman, for 36 years. We had a never ending supply of light poles (he got ill if they were refered to as telephone poles). One thing I can say is, not all light poles are created equally. Some, the bottom end is the gravy, and the upper is junk. Some are good all the way to the top.
0 x
A tumble bug makes a hard livin. Why? Cause that's just the way be nice is.

User avatar
Bright Raven
GURU
GURU
Posts: 3169
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 10:57 pm
Location: Kentucky

Re: Fence Project with Tornado Wire

Postby Bright Raven » Mon Aug 14, 2017 12:33 pm

Bigfoot wrote:My dad worked at the power company as a lineman, for 36 years. We had a never ending supply of light poles (he got ill if they were refered to as telephone poles). One thing I can say is, not all light poles are created equally. Some, the bottom end is the gravy, and the upper is junk. Some are good all the way to the top.


Yes, sir. They replaced the power poles across my farm ( not telephone poles). Gave the old ones to me. Of the four I got, all were good at the bottom 16 feet. But two from 16 feet to the top were crap.
0 x

User avatar
greybeard
Mentor
Mentor
Posts: 14478
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2012 5:51 pm
Location: Cleveland Tx

Re: Fence Project with Tornado Wire

Postby greybeard » Mon Aug 14, 2017 1:00 pm

It's gotten more difficult to get surplus poles from the power companies around here. They've found a market for them in Houston. Some outfit buys them up, saws them to post length and has a yard full that they sell.
They did leave me 3 a few years ago that were replaced here, but I had to sign a waiver to use them for fence posts and not to use them to build any structures out of (like a pole barn). Liability concerns I suppose..
0 x
"For evil to flourish, all that is required is for good men to do nothing" Burke

It ain't easy being a used cow salesman.

User avatar
Bright Raven
GURU
GURU
Posts: 3169
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 10:57 pm
Location: Kentucky

Re: Fence Project with Tornado Wire

Postby Bright Raven » Mon Aug 14, 2017 1:05 pm

greybeard wrote:It's gotten more difficult to get surplus poles from the power companies around here. They've found a market for them in Houston. Some outfit buys them up, saws them to post length and has a yard full that they sell.
They did leave me 3 a few years ago that were replaced here, but I had to sign a waiver to use them for fence posts and not to use them to build any structures out of (like a pole barn). Liability concerns I suppose..


These guys met me at the gate. They simply ask if I wanted the poles. I said yes. They left them right where they pulled them. No questions. Lots of things go easy here. When I cleared the farm, I wanted to burn the piles of debris pushed off. I called the sheriff, fire department, etc. They all acted like they never had anyone ever ask. So I just burnt as I needed.
0 x

User avatar
greybeard
Mentor
Mentor
Posts: 14478
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2012 5:51 pm
Location: Cleveland Tx

Re: Fence Project with Tornado Wire

Postby greybeard » Mon Aug 14, 2017 9:55 pm

Bright Raven wrote: When I cleared the farm, I wanted to burn the piles of debris pushed off. I called the sheriff, fire department, etc. They all acted like they never had anyone ever ask. So I just burnt as I needed.

Me too, AFTER I notified the nearest VFD, the National and Texas Forest Service, my electric utility provider, the county 911 dispatcher, and had the Forest Service come out and visually give my place the once over and he noted the nearest open water source (my farm ponds).
Livin next to the Natl Forest ain't easy.
0 x
"For evil to flourish, all that is required is for good men to do nothing" Burke

It ain't easy being a used cow salesman.

User avatar
Bright Raven
GURU
GURU
Posts: 3169
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 10:57 pm
Location: Kentucky

Re: Fence Project with Tornado Wire

Postby Bright Raven » Sun Aug 27, 2017 7:14 am

Luke,
I finished a small section on the south end with 15.5 gauge wire. I posted a picture above of the East end that I finished with the 14 guage tornado. I will finish the lion's share in the middle with Tornado. There is no comparison on the wires. The tornado is far superior.

Image
0 x

User avatar
TennesseeTuxedo
Mentor
Mentor
Posts: 10374
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2011 7:49 pm
Location: Live in Franklin, TN farm in Warsaw, KY

Re: Fence Project with Tornado Wire

Postby TennesseeTuxedo » Sun Aug 27, 2017 7:19 am

I'm gonna have to get some of this Tornado wire. Where is it sold?
0 x
Time for a snappy new signature.

User avatar
Bright Raven
GURU
GURU
Posts: 3169
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 10:57 pm
Location: Kentucky

Re: Fence Project with Tornado Wire

Postby Bright Raven » Sun Aug 27, 2017 7:21 am

TennesseeTuxedo wrote:I'm gonna have to get some of this Tornado wire. Where is it sold?

I can only get it through Luke
0 x

User avatar
TennesseeTuxedo
Mentor
Mentor
Posts: 10374
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2011 7:49 pm
Location: Live in Franklin, TN farm in Warsaw, KY

Re: Fence Project with Tornado Wire

Postby TennesseeTuxedo » Sun Aug 27, 2017 7:29 am

Bright Raven wrote:
TennesseeTuxedo wrote:I'm gonna have to get some of this Tornado wire. Where is it sold?

I can only get it through Luke


Perhaps he will send me a PM.
0 x
Time for a snappy new signature.

kickinbull
Trail Boss
Trail Boss
Posts: 388
Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2007 3:31 pm
Location: SC KY

Re: Fence Project with Tornado Wire

Postby kickinbull » Sun Aug 27, 2017 7:44 am

Old timers put posts rod apart,16&1/2 feet
0 x

Farm Fence Solutions
Rancher
Rancher
Posts: 882
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2016 3:22 pm

Re: Fence Project with Tornado Wire

Postby Farm Fence Solutions » Sun Aug 27, 2017 9:17 am

TennesseeTuxedo wrote:I'm gonna have to get some of this Tornado wire. Where is it sold?


I make regular trips through KY and TN to deliver wire, and I'd be glad to get what you need on the next truck. We should have a good bit of stock in the Bowling Green area in the near future, and I'm working on getting a stocking dealer set up near Manchester, TN. McArthur Post in McArthur, OH keeps a big inventory of Tornado wire as well. Hopefully, we will also have a good quantity of stock in central TX soon too.
0 x
"Opportunity is missed by most people because it is dressed in overalls and looks like work." Thomas Edison

Farm Fence Solutions
Rancher
Rancher
Posts: 882
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2016 3:22 pm

Re: Fence Project with Tornado Wire

Postby Farm Fence Solutions » Sun Aug 27, 2017 9:18 am

kickinbull wrote:Old timers put posts rod apart,16&1/2 feet

Who you calling old? :lol:
0 x
"Opportunity is missed by most people because it is dressed in overalls and looks like work." Thomas Edison

User avatar
TennesseeTuxedo
Mentor
Mentor
Posts: 10374
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2011 7:49 pm
Location: Live in Franklin, TN farm in Warsaw, KY

Re: Fence Project with Tornado Wire

Postby TennesseeTuxedo » Sun Aug 27, 2017 9:19 am

Farm Fence Solutions wrote:
TennesseeTuxedo wrote:I'm gonna have to get some of this Tornado wire. Where is it sold?


I make regular trips through KY and TN to deliver wire, and I'd be glad to get what you need on the next truck. We should have a good bit of stock in the Bowling Green area in the near future, and I'm working on getting a stocking dealer set up near Manchester, TN. McArthur Post in McArthur, OH keeps a big inventory of Tornado wire as well. Hopefully, we will also have a good quantity of stock in central TX soon too.


Awesome, I'll be in touch.
1 x
Time for a snappy new signature.


Return to “Tips 'n Tricks”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests