Chute System under building.. What size ?

Share knowledge or ideas about doing anything and everything.
ddd75
GURU
GURU
Posts: 1970
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2015 10:47 am
Location: KY

Chute System under building.. What size ?

Postby ddd75 » Tue Jul 31, 2018 9:14 am

building a building over my system.

The system measures 24 x 39' to the end of the headgate.

I was thinking a 36 x 40. The headgate would be right near the end of the barn. I figured this might be pretty good for light showing an exit.

the building will be I'm thinking 12' tall and be concreted.

panels will be bolted to concrete.


Anything I should think about doing ? Think that building size will work well for the system size?
0 x

Farm Fence Solutions
GURU
GURU
Posts: 1772
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2016 3:22 pm

Re: Chute System under building.. What size ?

Postby Farm Fence Solutions » Tue Jul 31, 2018 2:06 pm

Just a roof, or solid walls? If it's just a roof, I'd want the chute further from the edge to keep blowing weather off of it, and shade on it. Instead of bolting to the crete, maybe set the pens up so you can set support posts before you pour the concrete? Might be less work? I've been dreaming of a roof over my chute for a while.
0 x
"Opportunity is missed by most people because it is dressed in overalls and looks like work." Thomas Edison

ddd75
GURU
GURU
Posts: 1970
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2015 10:47 am
Location: KY

Re: Chute System under building.. What size ?

Postby ddd75 » Tue Jul 31, 2018 8:04 pm

Farm Fence Solutions wrote:Just a roof, or solid walls? If it's just a roof, I'd want the chute further from the edge to keep blowing weather off of it, and shade on it. Instead of bolting to the crete, maybe set the pens up so you can set support posts before you pour the concrete? Might be less work? I've been dreaming of a roof over my chute for a while.

just a roof..

the sides of the chute should be about 10' or so away from the wall. I did think of the weather hitting the front but not sure if I want to make the building 9' longer just for that. still in the thinking process on that one.
0 x

Farm Fence Solutions
GURU
GURU
Posts: 1772
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2016 3:22 pm

Re: Chute System under building.. What size ?

Postby Farm Fence Solutions » Tue Jul 31, 2018 9:18 pm

ddd75 wrote:
Farm Fence Solutions wrote:Just a roof, or solid walls? If it's just a roof, I'd want the chute further from the edge to keep blowing weather off of it, and shade on it. Instead of bolting to the crete, maybe set the pens up so you can set support posts before you pour the concrete? Might be less work? I've been dreaming of a roof over my chute for a while.

just a roof..

the sides of the chute should be about 10' or so away from the wall. I did think of the weather hitting the front but not sure if I want to make the building 9' longer just for that. still in the thinking process on that one.



Maybe cover the back pens with a square building, and a bump out over the chute? Could save some cash?
0 x
"Opportunity is missed by most people because it is dressed in overalls and looks like work." Thomas Edison

ddd75
GURU
GURU
Posts: 1970
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2015 10:47 am
Location: KY

Re: Chute System under building.. What size ?

Postby ddd75 » Wed Aug 01, 2018 7:08 am

Farm Fence Solutions wrote:
ddd75 wrote:
Farm Fence Solutions wrote:Just a roof, or solid walls? If it's just a roof, I'd want the chute further from the edge to keep blowing weather off of it, and shade on it. Instead of bolting to the crete, maybe set the pens up so you can set support posts before you pour the concrete? Might be less work? I've been dreaming of a roof over my chute for a while.

just a roof..

the sides of the chute should be about 10' or so away from the wall. I did think of the weather hitting the front but not sure if I want to make the building 9' longer just for that. still in the thinking process on that one.



Maybe cover the back pens with a square building, and a bump out over the chute? Could save some cash?



thats a good idea.
0 x

User avatar
bird dog
GURU
GURU
Posts: 1226
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2006 10:33 pm
Location: North Central Texas

Re: Chute System under building.. What size ?

Postby bird dog » Wed Aug 01, 2018 1:02 pm

I wouldn't worry much about the light thing if you don't have any walls. You will have plenty of light or at least mine does. My chute is in the center of the building.

Just out of curiosity, why do you want the whole thing concreted? It would seem to me to be messier and slicker. Mud shouldn't be an issue.
0 x

ddd75
GURU
GURU
Posts: 1970
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2015 10:47 am
Location: KY

Re: Chute System under building.. What size ?

Postby ddd75 » Wed Aug 01, 2018 3:46 pm

bird dog wrote:I wouldn't worry much about the light thing if you don't have any walls. You will have plenty of light or at least mine does. My chute is in the center of the building.

Just out of curiosity, why do you want the whole thing concreted? It would seem to me to be messier and slicker. Mud shouldn't be an issue.


really soft soil here. one run in the rain would make it a mess. everything sinks around here just sitting for a month it'll sink 6". I'll groove the concrete for traction. they seem to run good on all the other concrete i've put in and grooved.
1 x

elkwc
GURU
GURU
Posts: 1101
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2014 10:21 pm

Re: Chute System under building.. What size ?

Postby elkwc » Wed Aug 08, 2018 6:40 pm

ddd75 wrote:
bird dog wrote:I wouldn't worry much about the light thing if you don't have any walls. You will have plenty of light or at least mine does. My chute is in the center of the building.

Just out of curiosity, why do you want the whole thing concreted? It would seem to me to be messier and slicker. Mud shouldn't be an issue.


really soft soil here. one run in the rain would make it a mess. everything sinks around here just sitting for a month it'll sink 6". I'll groove the concrete for traction. they seem to run good on all the other concrete i've put in and grooved.


We have a top only with a concrete pad. It works great. No lights under the awning yet. I plan to put lights there after I retire and have the time. The only time we would need them would be for after dark work. Other wise you will have plenty of light.
0 x


Return to “Tips 'n Tricks”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests