Hello from Sask .

Let us know who you are.
Boldcat
Cowhand
Cowhand

Hello from Sask .

Postby Boldcat » Tue Mar 14, 2006 5:38 pm

I found this site 3 days ago and love it .
I'm fairly new to cattle , Started into them 3 years ago after a back injury ended my stint at logging .
I have been raising bison for the last 13 years and am increasing my cattle herd , while at the same time decreasing my bison numbers .
I started out with a small herd of Simmentals and crossed them to Red angus . The bull was'nt cut out for hiefers so I learned to pull calves real fast .
The next year I got a AI tech to breed them and loved the results .
I had them AI'ed again last year and am experimenting a bit .
I hope to be taking a AI course next month .
I appreciate the frank answers and opinions on this site , especially on the animal evaluations .
I love it when a KNOWLEDGABLE person picks my animals apart .
It makes me a better producer :lol:
0 x

Gale Seddon
GURU
GURU

Postby Gale Seddon » Tue Mar 14, 2006 7:18 pm

Hello and welcome....

Saw a group of bison not long ago near Madison, VA...magnificent animals!!!!...I neglected to take the camera with me (stupid). When they galloped across the field towards us, it was almost like they were in slow motion, just beautiful to watch. Interesting that they seemed to take turns rolling and bathing in dust. Only got to spend about a half hour there, but could have sat and watched them for hours. Was told that they can only have ONE bull with the herd and when they bring them all in a couple of times a year, they pretty much have to stampede them in the direction of the corrals and they have a few people in the pasture who kind of "pop up" to steer the group toward the pens. Wouldn't want to volunteer for that job myself.

Anyway, welcome again!
0 x

lcupit

Postby lcupit » Tue Mar 14, 2006 10:18 pm

Welcome aboard!
0 x

K-SHIRES
Cowhand
Cowhand

more hardworking Canadians!

Postby K-SHIRES » Tue Mar 14, 2006 10:50 pm