What does everyone think is the optimal weight to sell calve

Let us know who you are.
DoubleK
Cowhand
Cowhand

What does everyone think is the optimal weight to sell calve

Postby DoubleK » Wed Mar 15, 2006 4:03 pm

Hello everyone

I'm new to this site and was wanting to get some opinions on selling my calves. I'm a small producer (around 40 calves per year) and I have participated in the wean/vac sales the last 2 years. My question is, should I hold my calves until they weigh 800 or so or should I just sell them straight off the cow. There are costs associated with the extra weight and they always seem to bring less per pound so, I just would like to hear from you each and every one.

Thx

Dubya
0 x

ARMTco@aol.com

calves

Postby ARMTco@aol.com » Fri Mar 17, 2006 5:24 pm

If you were here and they were black hided, I can get you $1.40 at least a pound if it's right around 500lbs. If that helps any but, I am in WV
0 x

D.R. Cattle
GURU
GURU

Postby D.R. Cattle » Fri Mar 17, 2006 9:58 pm

I like to wean around 450-500 lbs. But it's important to wean your calves and give your cows ample time to recover for the next crop, whatever the weight is.
0 x
-Annoy a liberal; work, succeed and be happy.
-Eat more beef.

Bez!
Rancher
Rancher

Postby Bez! » Fri Mar 17, 2006 10:06 pm

Break out the pencil and do your math.

Find the two or three sale barns that you are likely to deal with. Ask them for their historic pricing on a monthly basis for the past few years.

Then figure wht the calves are worth - approximately is as close as you will ever get. Then figure wht it costs you to keep them.

You now have YOUR answer.

It will not be the same as your neighbour - it will be YOUR most advantgeous weight.

Bez!
0 x

Bama
GURU
GURU

Postby Bama » Fri Mar 17, 2006 11:07 pm

I go pretty much the same as Bez, but with a little extra.

You need to know the

weight of the calf
average daily gain
cost of keeping per day
drawdown on momma