New to dairy

For the dairy folks and/or beef folks with questions about udders, milk and mastitis.
tncattle
GURU
GURU

New to dairy

Postby tncattle » Thu Jan 10, 2008 8:31 am

I've been volunteering with a family friend for almost a year now helping him whenever I can with his 200 Angus cattle. I've read a lot about the dairy cattle business and am really interested. I've already contacted a few local dairy farmers and am going to try and work PT for one in the summer(I'm a teacher). What should I expect? We (wife, two little ones and third on way) are considering the lifestyle change and she would keep her job that allows her to work from home 99% of her time. I'm more interested in the dairy business because it seems to be a year round market and I realize the huge commitment it takes. I'm just skeptical if $ can really be made for a modest profit?
0 x

dun
Mentor
Mentor

Re: New to dairy

Postby dun » Thu Jan 10, 2008 8:48 am

Beisdes working PT, talk to as many darymen in your area as you can, preferably different size herds. Most dairymen are willing to help someone avoid the pittfalls and pratfalls of get started. Look into DHIA testing, there is a wealth of information available when you know how your cows are really producing.
0 x
"“The more you know, the more you know you don't know.” ― Aristotle

bigbull338
Beefmaster Breeder
Beefmaster Breeder

Postby bigbull338 » Thu Jan 10, 2008 9:14 am