Cooking prime rib in oven

Post your favorite recipes or get help with a cooking problem here.
Till-Hill
Rancher
Rancher

Cooking prime rib in oven

Postby Till-Hill » Wed Dec 06, 2017 12:31 pm

I'm a total rookie. Parents coming this weekend. Grandparents and so on. I want to eat good Saturday. Grabbed a 14 Prime Rib. I've heard of the 5 mins/# at 500 degrees and shut oven off for 2 hours. Will that work with this big of one? Butcher told me 325 1.5 hours then wrap with foil. Only problem with that I see is what time do I need to put it in oven for 7pm supper?!

Also reading uncover in fridge night before to let outside dry out and set on counter 2 hours before goes in oven?

Thanks!
0 x

Bright Raven
GURU
GURU

Re: Cooking prime rib in oven

Postby Bright Raven » Wed Dec 06, 2017 2:19 pm

Your best bet here is for Jo to see this. That guy is a Master.
0 x
Make America Happy Again

M.Magis
GURU
GURU

Postby M.Magis » Wed Dec 06, 2017 2:20 pm

5 minutes at 500 will barely brown the outside. If I recall, it's usually 500 for 30 minutes or so, then lower it to somewhere around 300 and cook until the internal is 120, then pull and don't touch for half hour. I don't like covering it, I prefer crust on the outside.
1 x

Jogeephus
Mentor
Mentor

Postby Jogeephus » Wed Dec 06, 2017 3:12 pm

M.Magis wrote:5 minutes at 500 will barely brown the outside. If I recall, it's usually 500 for 30 minutes or so, then lower it to somewhere around 300 and cook until the internal is 120, then pull and don't touch for half hour. I don't like covering it, I prefer crust on the outside.

I've done it both ways but think on a roast this big M.Magis has the right because 70 minutes at 500F might make an unsightly bark. I like to cook with a good thermometer or even two to be safe.
0 x
Experience - the ability to instantly recognize a mistake when you make it again.

J&D Cattle
GURU
GURU

Postby J&D Cattle » Wed Dec 06, 2017 4:15 pm