Mineral for Hogs

Anything that doesn't fit in the other boards.
BK9954
GURU
GURU

Mineral for Hogs

Postby BK9954 » Thu Sep 07, 2017 8:30 am

Is there a mineral I should be feeding my hogs? Can't really find a solid answer on the Internet. I have one that has a syndrome where every once in a while his back legs give out and he dips and yelps, but it said this could be caused by stress or change in diet.
0 x
"Those who fail to learn from history are doomed to repeat it" Winston Churchill

skyhightree1
Mentor
Mentor

Re: Mineral for Hogs

Postby skyhightree1 » Thu Sep 07, 2017 9:17 am

BK9954 wrote:Is there a mineral I should be feeding my hogs? Can't really find a solid answer on the Internet. I have one that has a syndrome where every once in a while his back legs give out and he dips and yelps, but it said this could be caused by stress or change in diet.

I am no expert so take what I say with a grain of salt.. Some people use general livestock minerals and mix it in the pigs feed most popular is corn mineral and soy meal... If I were to guess id say maybe a potassium deficiency may be causing it just like when we have cramps. I never fed any minerals as I always believed what they were lacking they got it from the dirt. When we raised feeders in the hog houses and fed corn and commercial feeds I think the commercial feeds had minerals in it but not sure. Check out these links

http://www.thepigsite.com/diseaseinfo/59/leg-weakness/

http://extension.missouri.edu/p/G2322
0 x
Oh Great Spirit, who made all races,look kindly upon the whole human family and take away the arrogance and hatred which separates us from our brothers.

sim.-ang.king
GURU
GURU

Postby sim.-ang.king » Thu Sep 07, 2017 9:35 am

How big is the pig with the leg problem?

Go to a local feed Mill and ask for a mineral for pigs, then mix it at rate with any meal. Probably be a jbs product. Your main problems will come from vit. and trace mineral diffenences.
0 x