Anybody use CattleMax?

Cattle problems.
User avatar
Chocolate Cow
Cowhand
Cowhand
Posts: 182
Joined: Sun May 01, 2016 12:21 am
Location: West Central Kansas

Anybody use CattleMax?

Postby Chocolate Cow » Fri Feb 17, 2017 2:59 pm

I've been trying to get my cows set up with this on-line system. I've finally given up today. :bang: I paid for a years service and will just eat it. Really discouraged with it.
0 x

User avatar
M-5
GURU
GURU
Posts: 5577
Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 4:41 pm
Location: AT the FLORIDA STATE line checking papers

Re: Anybody use CattleMax?

Postby M-5 » Fri Feb 17, 2017 3:25 pm

pm me I can help you
0 x
"Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought." JFK

User avatar
Chocolate Cow
Cowhand
Cowhand
Posts: 182
Joined: Sun May 01, 2016 12:21 am
Location: West Central Kansas

Re: Anybody use CattleMax?

Postby Chocolate Cow » Fri Feb 17, 2017 4:06 pm

Thank You M-5. I've sent you a totally confusing PM. Too much to text.
0 x

User avatar
dun
Mentor
Mentor
Posts: 47007
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2003 10:34 am
Location: MO Ozarks

Re: Anybody use CattleMax?

Postby dun » Fri Feb 17, 2017 7:42 pm

Chocolate Cow wrote:Thank You M-5. I've sent you a totally confusing PM. Too much to text.

The online version does really suck compared to the odler one. Send them an email and they will jump on getting your problems resolved. That has always been their strongest suit, customer service
0 x
"“The more you know, the more you know you don't know.” ― Aristotle

RyanE7
Beginner
Beginner
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2015 8:53 am

Re: Anybody use CattleMax?

Postby RyanE7 » Fri Feb 17, 2017 8:28 pm

I've heard there planning to release an offline version this year sometime. possibly.
0 x

User avatar
Chocolate Cow
Cowhand
Cowhand
Posts: 182
Joined: Sun May 01, 2016 12:21 am
Location: West Central Kansas

Re: Anybody use CattleMax?

Postby Chocolate Cow » Fri Feb 17, 2017 11:40 pm

I've spent an enormous amount of time entering data on my cows. I went back through each entry and found that I had failed to enter a breeding for some of the cows which moved her from 'exposed' to 'pregnant' category. Others, the program never recognized the breeding I had entered. Things look better tonight but mercy has this been time consuming. I really want this to work because I have a terrible habit of writing notes on scrap pieces of paper with the intention of transferring to one of the three notebooks I plan on organizing some day :hide:

Thank You M-5.
0 x

User avatar
M-5
GURU
GURU
Posts: 5577
Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 4:41 pm
Location: AT the FLORIDA STATE line checking papers

Re: Anybody use CattleMax?

Postby M-5 » Sat Feb 18, 2017 7:20 am

You have it whooped then. Now that you have it all in there it's easy to maintain. Like I said when I see an event I pull out my phone and note it right then on the animal. PM anytime if you have questions. It's a great tool
0 x
"Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought." JFK

NEFarmwife
Cowhand
Cowhand
Posts: 75
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2017 6:33 pm

Re: Anybody use CattleMax?

Postby NEFarmwife » Sat Feb 18, 2017 10:14 am

We use Cattle Max and this is our second year. A bit of a learning curve initially but so worth it in the end. I usually make the entries as we go, for AI's right there at the chute. But the ability to group an edit or change is so nice!

We had entered nearly 5 years of data on our cows and its nice to have the adjusted BW/WW etc... all computed for you.
0 x

User avatar
Chocolate Cow
Cowhand
Cowhand
Posts: 182
Joined: Sun May 01, 2016 12:21 am
Location: West Central Kansas

Re: Anybody use CattleMax?

Postby Chocolate Cow » Fri Feb 24, 2017 8:48 pm

Thank You NEFarmwife. Amen to the learning curve. It's pretty simple once you've made enough mistakes. ;-)
0 x


Return to “Health & Nutrition”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: frank boucher and 7 guests