New herd - winter feeding program questions

Cattle problems.
Rockhollow1009
Beginner
Beginner

New herd - winter feeding program questions

Postby Rockhollow1009 » Sat Sep 01, 2018 10:39 pm

Okay, so we just got a small herd of mini/classic herefords. I grew up raising show steers and we have put beef in the freezer since... graze all summer, hay and heavy feed last few months into winter to finish em out. Pretty straight forward... but this is my first time with actual beef cows and heifers. Ive had dairy in the past but they are a totally diffferent beast to feed obviously.

I am in the northeast, (southeast PA to be exact)... I plan to have the cows with calves at their side inside a bed pack this winter for ease of taming calves, and the 15 month old heifers i just bred in a small pasture (just some low quality fall season grass) with a shed. Both have access to loose salt as well as loose mineral mixed local for our area. Both will have free choice good quality grass hay, some first cutting mostly grass with some timothy. Its horse safe but 1st cutting and not as green as a most "horse people" would prefer
:help: How much grain should I be feeding? Everyone just got bred back. Cows have 2+/- month old calves on their side, who will be weaned in december. Heifers are obviously still growing but in good condition around 500 lbs+/-. Cows are in good condition, if anything a bit heavy looking at 800-1000 lbs. Calves will have access to creep. I have easy access to>
16% all stock sweet feed for ruminants $26cwt
20% calf starter/grower $30cwt
10% steer grower $18cwt
Any kalmback beef feed product (tubs, grains)
And plain oats and corn
Im just worried they will be missing protein, nutrients or vitamins if I don't supplement with something at least... they haven't touched the mineral.