Buying a farm

The place to start if you are new!
Cress27
Cowhand
Cowhand

Buying a farm

Post by Cress27 » Wed May 29, 2019 8:56 pm

I’m a young farmer I’m 24 years old and found a property that I would love to own and is already set up for cattle. It’s a 150 acres and probably has about 90 to 100 acres of pasture/hay. Just starting from scratch with having to buy equipment and the farm and cows to go on the farm. Is there any way possible to make any money. Farming would not be my only income I work a public job and would have a steady money flow. I just don’t want to jump in to far and get in over my head. Thanks

kenny thomas
GURU
GURU

Re: Buying a farm

Post by kenny thomas » Wed May 29, 2019 9:14 pm

Where is the farm? How many cattle will it run. Unless its very productive it will be very hard.
My thoughts only, don't bet the farm on them. KT

Cress27
Cowhand
Cowhand

Post by Cress27 » Wed May 29, 2019 9:32 pm

kenny thomas wrote:
Wed May 29, 2019 9:14 pm
Where is the farm? How many cattle will it run. Unless its very productive it will be very hard.
The farm is In south central Kentucky. I’m not sure on the how many cow it will run. Typically in this area it’s a 1.5 acres per cow and calf. The farm has been leased out for the past 3 or 4 years I know it needs some improvements to it probably some lime and some reseeding. But other than that it’s got good fence good water 3 barns and a working facility. It’s something I really want to do just hard wrapping my head around the amount of money I would have to come up with every year to just make the payment on the farm.

kenny thomas
GURU
GURU

Post by kenny thomas » Wed May 29, 2019 9:39 pm

Some years there is very little profit in cattle. Starting from scratch buying everything is going to be very very hard. You are in good cattle area and being young it's the time to do it if you can make the payments.

True Grit Farms
GURU
GURU

Post by True Grit Farms » Wed May 29, 2019 9:51 pm