Cattle Today

Cattle Today



Kansas City, Mo.
– Fourteen National Junior Hereford Association (NJHA) members were awarded scholarships totaling $35,750 from the Hereford Youth Foundation of America (HYFA). All scholarship winners were recognized at the Hereford Youth Foundation of America (HYFA) “Harvest Gala” on Oct. 21 in Kansas City, Mo. Youth recognized were: Cassie Bacon, Amy Berry, Jessie Berry, Jocelyn Butler, Robert Craig, Tyler Cowan, Mason McClintock, Madeline Moore, Roger Morgan, Katlin Mulvaney, Drew Perez, Nicole Starr, Ashley Steckel-Stryker and Brandy Valek.

Bacon, Prairie Grove, Ark., and McClintock, Ft. McKavett, Texas, both earned a $5,000 Bill and Jo Ellard, EE Ranches Inc. Scholarship.

Bacon served as the 2006 National Polled Hereford Queen and recently retired from her term on the National Junior Hereford Association (NJHA) board. She is a junior at Oklahoma State University (OSU) double majoring in animal science-food industry and agricultural communications. She intends to use these degrees to research and develop food products and then market them to consumers.

McClintock is a senior at Texas Tech University double majoring in wildlife & fisheries management and pre-medicine. After McClintock obtains his undergraduate degree, he plans to attend dentistry school. McClintock was active in the Texas Junior Hereford Association serving as parliamentarian, director and committee chairman.

Starr, Manawa, Wis., was awarded the $2,500 Bob and Dolores Call Scholarship. She is currently serving as NJHA treasurer. Starr is a sophomore at Michigan State University, majoring in animal science and marketing. She hopes to become a pharmaceutical sales representative for an agriculture company.

Valek, Agenda, Kansas, received the $2,500 Whitehead Ranches and Rocking Chair Ranch Scholarship. She has been a junior member since 1993 and has served as the Kansas Junior Polled Hereford Association president since 2001. She is a senior at Kansas State University (K-State) majoring in agricultural economics with a specialty in animal science. Upon graduation, Valek plans to continue her education by obtaining her master's.

Moore, Cove, Ore., earned the $2,500 Bob Kube Scholarship. She served as the Oregon Junior Hereford Association vice president and queen in 2003-05. She is a sophomore at Oregon State University (OSU) majoring in agriculture education. After obtaining her undergraduate degree, Moore plans to obtain her master's degree and pursue a career within the agriculture industry.

Butler, Republic, Mo.; Mulvaney, Auburn, Ala.; Amy Berry, Cheyenne, Wyo.; and Cowan, Maple Hill, Kansas, were recipients of $2,500 HYFA Scholarships. Amy was also a Golden Bull scholarship winner.

Butler served as a mentor for the NJHA Mentoring Program and is the current president of the Missouri Junior Hereford Association. She is an animal science and agricultural communication junior at Missouri State University. After completing her undergraduate studies, she plans to pursue her master's degree. She eventually hopes to pursue a career in agriculture while maintaining her Hereford herd.

Mulvaney is currently serving on the NJHA board of directors. She attends Auburn University majoring in agricultural communications. Upon graduation, her aspiration is to pursue a career in agricultural public relations while continuing to support youth in agriculture.

Amy Berry has served on the Wyoming Junior Hereford Association board of directors since 1997. She is a sophomore at the University of Wyoming (UW) majoring in animal and veterinary science with a pre-vet option. Upon graduation Berry plans to attend Colorado State University (CSU) Veterinary School and specialize in large animals.

Cowan is vice president of the Kansas Junior Hereford Association. He is a freshman at K-State majoring in agricultural education. He plans to obtain a teaching position close to home so he can stay involved in the family Hereford business.

Jessie Berry, Cheyenne, Wyo., and Roger Morgan, Burwell, Neb., received the $1,000 Gary Bishop Memorial Scholarships. Jessie was also a Golden Bull scholarship winner.

Jessie served as the 2006-07 Wyoming Junior Hereford Association president. She is a junior at UW pursuing a degree in agriculture business. She hopes to stay on the ranch raising Hereford cattle.

Morgan has been a Hereford junior member for 18 years and is currently serving as the NJHA vice president. He is a junior at Northwest Missouri State University majoring in agriculture business. Morgan plans to market and develop animal electronic identification systems upon graduation and stay active in the Hereford breed.

The Berry sisters along with Ashley Steckel-Stryker, Taylor, Neb.; Drew Perez, Nara Visa, N.M.; and Robert Craig, Scandia, Kansas, were recognized as the 2007 Golden Bull Award winners. The Golden Bull award recognizes five junior members who have excelled in all phases and activities of the junior program. Winners are selected based on the juniors' individual accomplishments, leadership, employment, herd management and future goals. Each recipient receives a bronze Hereford bull as well as a $1,500 scholarship.

Steckel-Stryker recently completed her junior career and was an active member of the NJHA both at state and national levels. She has seen much success in the showring with her animals, is an accomplished public speaker and has been a part of the prestigious top 10 showmen group at the Junior National Hereford Expo (JNHE). She resides in Kansas with her husband, but is still actively involved in managing her family's cow herd and 3,000-head backgrounding lot. She is currently completing her animal science and industry degree from K-State.

Perez, is another active member in NJHA, 4-H and FFA. Perez has been a spokesman for the breed as the New Mexico voting delegate at the JNHE, worked on promotional exhibitions for Certified Hereford Beef, hosted the New Mexico Field Day at his family's ranch and has been a member of the New Mexico Junior Hereford Association Field Day committee since 1997. Perez is currently attending Butler Community College, El Dorado, Kan., pursuing a degree in animal science and agriculture finance. At Butler Perez is a member of the livestock judging team.

Craig is a first-generation Hereford breeder. He received his first Hereford heifer when he was 8 years old. Craig is president of the Kansas Junior Polled Hereford Association. He has also been a participant at PRIDE and JNHE. He is an accomplished singer and was a member of the Pike Valley High School Marching Band, Concert and Jazz Band and Show Choir. This fall Craig will be a sophomore at K-State majoring in biological and agricultural engineering with a minor in music.

The B.C. “Bud” Snidow Award is sponsored by the American Hereford Women (AHW) and is given annually to a deserving NJHA member who exemplifies the qualities most admired by Snidow, including honesty, fairness, hard work, enthusiasm and dedication to the Hereford breed and its breeders.

Snidow and AHW members presented Shelby Williams, Glen Rose, Texas, with a belt buckle at the American Royal National Hereford Show, recognizing her as this year's winner. She also received a custom painting created by Snidow.

Williams is junior at Texas A&M's Tarleton campus in Stephenville majoring in elementary education. She was a Texas Junior Hereford Association director and reporter. She was also active in 4-H, FFA, Rodeo Club and the dance team.

The National Junior Hereford Association is one of the most active junior programs in the country with 3,000 members. The NJHA's mission is to create and promote enthusiasm for the breed while providing opportunities through leadership, education and teamwork. For more information about NJHA visit


Send mail to with questions or comments about this web site.
Copyright © 1998-2007 CATTLE TODAY, INC.