Cattle Today

Cattle Today



Pierre, SD (January 25, 2007) – South Dakota Cattlemen's Association President, Scott Jones appointed the 2007 committee leadership for SDCA at the regular Board of Directors Meeting in Pierre last week. The committee chairmen will lead their respective committee during the policy development process at the annual convention.

Each of SDCA's 15 affiliates and two councils has representation on each committee. These committees may also meet during the year if the need to address a particular issue.

“The committee process provides a balanced approach in our policy development which will guide SDCA leadership on important issues with input from our members through their affiliate,“ said Jones.

The Agriculture Policy committee chair is Brad Bonhorst of Pierre with vice chair Merrill Karlen, Oacoma. The Legislative committee is chaired by Scott Jones of Midland with Barry Jensen, White River as Vice Chair. This committee will meet as needed during the legislative session to determine our strategy on legislation important to our members. The Cattle Health and Well Being committee is chaired by Bryan Nagel of Springfield and the animal ID subcommittee is chaired by Todd Mortenson of Hayes. The Property Rights and Environmental Management committee is chaired by Carl Sanders of Oral with Dave Steffen of Burke as vice chair and Technical Advisor and the Federal Lands committee is chaired by Myron Williams of Wall. The International Markets committee is chaired by Ed Blair, Vale with Barry Heiss of Pierre as vice chair. The Live Cattle Marketing committee is chaired by Doug Van Duyn, Colton and vice chaired by Cody Volmer of Presho. Neal Ruhd of Clear Lake will be the chairman of the Membership and Information committee and Jim Houck, Akaska will chair the Political Action committee.

South Dakota Cattlemen's Association is working to advance the interests of South Dakota's Cattlemen through the representation and promotion of the beef industry.


Send mail to with questions or comments about this web site.
Copyright © 1998-2007 CATTLE TODAY, INC.