newbie homemade water tank-can calves use it?

The place to start if you are new!
pdubdo
Cowhand
Cowhand

newbie homemade water tank-can calves use it?

Postby pdubdo » Fri Mar 02, 2018 4:10 pm

I'm brand new to this but thought I'd try to make my own. Unfortunately the sidewalls proved impossible to cut through with chainsaw, sawzall (tried 4 diff blades), angle grinder, or circular saw. Saw as-is, could calves use it? the inner opening is about 38" across and it's just over 2 feet high. This project has been frustrating and thinking it may be time to bury this thing and just spend the $100 and buy one.

0 x

M-5
GURU
GURU

Re: newbie homemade water tank-can calves use it?

Postby M-5 » Fri Mar 02, 2018 4:15 pm

Those skidder tires are hard to get cut . Nextime get a tractor tire and you will see its much easier . I don't think a calf will be able to use it and if one happens to get up on it he risk getting hung up.
0 x
"Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought." JFK

Lucky_P
GURU
GURU

Postby Lucky_P » Tue Mar 06, 2018 10:50 am

Were you trying to cut through the bead?
I've done a bunch of them, and never had any problem cutting the sidewall with a sawzall... even if they had steel belting in them, I could cut all the way around in under 2-3 minutes, max...non-steel-belted, about as fast as I could work my way around them. Hardest part is getting the blade started through the sidewall, but after that, easy-peasy.
0 x

kenny thomas
GURU
GURU

Postby kenny thomas » Tue Mar 06, 2018 11:20 am

Next thing will be a cow will break the pipe in the middle.
1 x
My thoughts only, don't bet the farm on them. KT

Sd1030
Trail Boss
Trail Boss

Postby Sd1030 » Thu Mar 08, 2018 7:22 pm