Fencing full of Brush, etc.

The place to start if you are new!
south0085
Cowhand
Cowhand

Fencing full of Brush, etc.

Postby south0085 » Fri Jul 27, 2018 2:38 pm

I have about 6 acres that I need to put some cows on. I just have a small hobby farm in Kentucky. Most of the lot has barb wire. Not the best in some places. But it other places, pretty good. No hot wires anywhere on it. I plan to fix the bad spots and leave the rest. In a perfect world, I would add one or two electric wires.

The problem is: it's ALL grown up with weeds, briars, trees, etc. Really badly.

I don't have the money to hire someone to come and clean it out for me. I don't really have the time to do it myself. I work another job full-time. What are my options?

Is the "pretty-good" fence that's already there, PLUS the brush that's grown up in it....enough to keep the cows contained? It's grown up really bad. A cow would have to run with all it's might to get past all of the brush. haha. I'm just new to this and didn't know if I still needed to redo the fence, or what. Any advice is appreciated. Thank you.
0 x

M-5
GURU
GURU

Re: Fencing full of Brush, etc.

Postby M-5 » Fri Jul 27, 2018 3:22 pm

bush ax and some loppers to get in the spots where it needs repair , put a board on the tree to nail wire to and turn the cows loose . doesnt have to be pretty just has to work.
2 x
"Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought." JFK

sstterry
Rancher
Rancher

Postby sstterry » Fri Jul 27, 2018 5:14 pm

If it is difficult for them to get through it, they will stay as long as they have plenty to eat and drink (not speaking of bulls here).
3 x

TCRanch
GURU
GURU

Postby TCRanch » Fri Jul 27, 2018 5:29 pm