Frozen Bales

Help Support CattleToday:

kenny thomas":1cjjfc3f said:
Another good reason to unroll

Kenny, I've been unrolling for 5 years now. And I like it. But this year they are wasting the crap out of it, even though they have free choice bagged protein we call 20/20 hot mix.

The ones at the second farm, eating out of rings, are being terribly picky. Having to force them to clean it up, even with the 20/20 hot mix.

And the ones at farm 3, eating out of rings, have the sorriest hay and are cleaning it up good. But they are getting liquid feed to boot.

Been the oddest year I've experienced since I've been in the cattle business. I attribute it to all the summer rain and also the wet, wet winter. As Jan stated in another thread, the summer grass and the hay just don't seem to be what they want/need, seemingly bc of the rain. Oh well, we shall survive. A lot of the cotton farmers around here won't be around next year.

Mine are on19+% stockpile fescue but eating like they are starved. There is no limit to what they can graze but they still bawl when they hear me coming. Might be spoiled.
As soon as I turn them into a new strip it starts getting muddy. Rain 6 of the next 10 days and no temps below freezing.

kenny thomas":3f1ucg98 said:
Mine are on19+% stockpile fescue but eating like they are starved. There is no limit to what they can graze but they still bawl when they hear me coming. Might be spoiled.
As soon as I turn them into a new strip it starts getting muddy. Rain 6 of the next 10 days and no temps below freezing.

I know exactly what you mean. The bunch that is wasting the hay seem like bottomless pits. But they still won't clean it up. And their condition is still good. I think they're spoiled as well.