Help with charging steer please quick!!!!

Help Support CattleToday:

Kelsie

Reaction score
I have been showing steers for the 4-h county fair for 7 years!! Anyway are fair is in july and I have my steer already feeding him out and stuff and normally by now I have my steers tame and stuff but this year I got my steer late and have had a death in the family so i haven't really got to work with him a whole lot so I started really working with him this past week (he's had the halter on three times and has been tied up) but anyway I figured out he likes to charge when I try to lead him and when I try to brush him by his back legs he kicks i have never had this problem and if i did have a problem I could always fix it but it's only about 4 1/2 months until the fair and i need to get him where I can lead him without being charged at and be able to brush him with him kicking at me!! I can lead him without him charging at me if if im at the very end of the rope but if i get up by his face where i need to be he charges at me idk what to do!! I need help quick please!!!!

You probably already know this since you've been showing for 7 yrs, but move slowly and talk quietly to him for a few days. Spend time with him not only when he is haltered. He doesn't seem to trust you yet. Otherwise, I have had some that like to headbutt, and a swat on the nose a couple times will usually put an end to that for a while; so that could help but don't do it until you know that you have his respect as it could be counteractive.

Try buying a clip-in nose ring to put on the steer. If he puts his head down, you can use the ring to control him better and lift his head back up and stop the charge.