HOw do i know if my cow is milking baby good?

Help Support CattleToday:

Reaction score
**Keep in mind im a green beginner didn't know whether to put here or on beginner board**

This is our very first calf and we have no history on mama cow, we got her at such a good price were' now a bit suspicious that something isn't going to work right w/her(wont milk, not a good mother etc). IN MIdwest KS
Calf born Tues in super mild weather and things seemed to look ok when I got there within 2hr of birth.
Thing is calf is 65mi away at my moms place, my mother whose 73 doesn't think the cows bag hasnt filled up enough to give the baby adequate milk. I told mom i had seen baby nurse after born and maybe the baby had just nursed and that every animals bags are diff. But my mom is driving us crazy w/worry and constant calls(bless her :heart: ) so were going to try to go load both fri (will see how that goes couldnt' load mama before she gave birth so this outta be fun). We dont' have catch pen built yet so its a trailer and cattle panels kind of cluster.. .UGH! Shes bucket trained but doesn't like putting back feet in trailer.
Anyway "Whats a good way to tell all is well on the milking dept"? if the baby has milk around its mouth? If not milking good baby may be gone by the time we get there fri.
Pics taken 2 hrs old , wasnt able to tell if boy/girl yet....Anyone see anything?

I see no evidence in the photos provided that the cow's udder isn't plump and full of milk. :lol:

You are right about individual difference between cows. I have one with udder that always takes a day to start producing.
My gut says over reaction to a low production cow and the calf will be fine.
If calf's tail is wagging when sucking that means milk is hitting the sweet spot in its' tummy and life is good.
If calf doesn't wag tail and searches from teat to teat in disappointment or quits trying means isn't getting what he/she needs.

I'll echo the comments above.