New block of land

Help Support CattleToday:

wbvs58

Reaction score
I have come to an agreement to purchase a parcel of land adjoining mine. It is a bit over 400 acres. It is low value land that used to be a tin mine but consists mostly of scrub that only roads and fencelines can be cleared. I have bought it mainly for the family for recreation and to secure my boundary. My wife and daughter will enjoy riding their horses through it and my grandson will be able to ride his bike around it and to hoon over the many sand dunes from the tin washings. It is not completely useless for the cattle, I have been putting the dry cows in there for a few years now after weaning the calves up to just before calving. It is very usefull as it gives my pastures a break and the rye grass that I drill into them a chance to get going with winter feed. They never go hungry in there, just low quality feed that can be easily supplemented. It is sort of my drought insurance and will get me out of trouble in bad times and I am sure I can do some improvement to it so we are very excited.

Ken

Good for you Ken. Always nice when you have the opportunity to purchase adjoining land. And are also financially able to seize the opportunity. Good luck and hope you enjoy it.

You never know as someday you might want to start digging tin again and now you have the mine.

wbvs58":29dco8wo said: