Ranchcop - Organic questions

Help Support CattleToday:

Dusty Britches

Reaction score
Brad -

I'm curious about this organic thing you are so passionate about. I'd send you personal emails, but I'm thinking others may want to hear (read) my questions.

1. With organic, can I plant hybrid bermuda, like Jiggs, Tif 85?

2. If I've been spraying Grazon for a couple of years, should I give it a rest before I plant clover?

3. Will I have to fence out my cows from the clover during growing season?

4. Do I need to do anything to my soil before I "go organic"?

5. Is EQIP money available for this?

Thanks. I hope others are interested in this. If not, I'll start emailing you.

Dusty,
I am glad to answer your questions.

1. Organic works on any type of Ag. program and with anytype of grasses, yes even hybrid bermuda.
2. If you apply the right Micro Organisims now they should decompose the toxins in the soil by next fall in time to plant your legumes, and of course dont use herbicides this spring.
While you asked about Herbicide, I will put out a question that a very smart man asked me many years ago, Can anyone name any weed or insect that has been totally wiped off the face of this earth by using Herbicide or Pesticide? If you can not, Then why do we keep using them?
3. I am no cow expert, I know with Horses I have to keep them off the clover for about a month in April, because mine comes in so thick. I have heard with some types of clover you can keep them on, but you have to watch out for bloat.
4. Just stop using chemicals, everytime you use chemicals they kill more and more life in the soil, ever hear a farmer say "a peanut farm land is dead" or some of the rose growers in my area say "we have to let the land rest or the roses wont grow here anymore"? They have to let the life get back in the soil.