Rotational Grazing Advice Needed

Help Support CattleToday:

Stickney94

Reaction score
Looking for some guidance on rotational grazing/MIG. I've been practicing this for the last five years or so and slightly modifying my set-up each year. I've been struggling with cool, wet springs with no grass and then a sudden change where all my pasture is mature in a matter of days.

1. At what grass height or stage do you start grazing your pasture?
2. Have you noticed any increase in cattle lameness since moving to MIG?

My grass has gotten way too big this year. I like to start grazing at 10-12" and take them off at 6" or so. This year I just keep trying to move them through on a schedule.
It does seem that I see more foot issues. My cows are never more than 150 yards from water and much of the time 50 yards or less. They hardly have to walk any at all so I see some feet growing out more than I like.

Thanks. I'm probably not getting my cattle onto pasture soon enough in the spring. I've been reluctant to start to early because its been so wet and the cattle seem to turn the paddock into a mud hole so quickly.

I was looking into bringing water to my paddocks but am rethinking that due to similar issues with feet. When I bought the last of my dad's herd he warned me that he thought my space limitations might prevent the cows from walking enough for his liking.

1. I try to hold off until the fescue and orchard grass has 4 leaves. Some years I start a bit sooner. The height depends on the weather.

2. I have not noticed any increase in lameness or any foot issues. In fact, I have had fewer feet issues. However, I started feeding a better mineral about the same time I started rotational grazing. The mineral could easily be the reason I have fewer feet issues.

Foot problems seem to effect old cows more. Also, make sure you have a good amount of clover.

We turn them out when the grass is about 10 or 12 inches y'all.