Tanning a Calf Hide

Help Support CattleToday:

Sunny Citizen

Reaction score
I know this is crazy, but...I am new to calf-raising -- bought my very first ones in January...5 pure Jerseys. I botched 2 castrations (by banding) and missed one testicle on 2 babies, so now I have an appointment with the butcher for these 2 calves (they are currently being fed-out). I don't want any experience dealing with a Jersey bull -- at least at this point. The butcher will return a hide(s) to me (at my request) -- I thought it would be neat to have it tanned and make a small footstool for posterity's sake.

Where do I take the hide to be tanned? How to handle it between butcher & tanner? Any good websites on doing it myself??? Any and all advice will be appreciated. Thanks!

Your local taxidermist can handle it for you. I wouldn't reccomend you trying it yourself until you e tried some smaller hides. It's a fairly complex process.
Once you get it back from the butcher put it in a plastic garbage bag and in your freezer until you can get it to the taxidermist

Hooknline gave you the best advice. Don't try doing it yourself, it's just not feasible. I do taxidermy as a hobby and do all of my own taxidermy tanning, but this is beyond what 99% of the taxidermists out there can handle themselves. It takes machinery that only a tannery has, to do properly. Be prepared for sticker shock, tanning a beef hide is not cheap.

My taxidermist does all bass pro shops executives animals from around the world. He sends every hide out. He's a great taxidermist but even he knows his limits

Rawhide it with hair on if it has some color to it. I've done several cow hides and for Chair seats, bull drums, etc! very easy to do rawhide.

curious! what were you going to do with them if you hadn't missed a nut. vet can take other nut out easily. i had bought some steers like that years ago & had vet cut other nut out

Thank you, everyone, for your responses. I am so glad I found this forum!