YW vs $EN

Help Support CattleToday:

goodbeef

Reaction score
I run both angus and red angus genetics. I am fairly new to the red angus breed, but what caught my eye and my attention was the breeds functionality compared to their black angus counterparts. I recently ran some numbers for fun and thought i would share them with you. Based strickly from the ABS catalog, but i think its very representative of the breeds, on YW vs maternal energy requirements. Over the entire black angus sires available they avg. a yw epd of 93, this would rank in the top 12.5% on the main sire list. However the $EN epd over the same sire group avg. in the lowest 12.5% with an avg. of -2.3. On the flip side the red angus sires avg. a YW epd of 63, top 40% of the breed, and had a ME epd avg. of 4.7, top 45% of the breed. I am not trying to sell one breed or the other, it was just some interesting numbers when i got done figuring, but you can see where the balance and functionality is.

Frankie":22wjkinb said:
How many Red Angus bulls are you comparing to how many Angus bulls?

ANd are you using the breed correction tables to adjust the weights.

I dont need to use breed comparison tables because i'm not trying to compare the two breeds as much as i was comparing the unbalance, or balance of performance and economic traits within each breed. My explanasion may have been a bit confusing. As far as shear numbers go the comparison was between 118 angus and about 30 red angus, i just compared one semen catalog, but looking through them all i would say one would find the same thing through all of them, the genetic pool is much larger in the angus breed so i was comparing breed averages in the catalog not say, these 50 vs those 50.

goodbeef":14ob1oq4 said: