Do red hides get discounted?

Help Support CattleToday:

randyalexander

Reaction score
Hey guys. I'm new to the site but would love to hear everybody's opinion. I am newer to the cattle business in that I'm only in my third year. I am currently running a Hereford bull on primarily charolais/angus cross cows. I will be getting a new bull next year and I'm looking at either black or red angus. I like the idea of the FCCP tags for the red angus, but wasn't sure if they actually bring a premium, or if the red hides gets discounted. I have also considered starting to replace my cull cows with a Hereford based cow herd to start selling red baldys, or buy Hereford-Santa Gertrudis cross cows. Any and all Info is greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Check out this thread on here too... I'm Only Buying Black Angus Cows Going Forth

Seems to me the black hides always bring a premium vs. coloreds, at least in our area, and from what I've been seeing/hearing, in most others as well. Probably in the south that would be a little less... lighter colored hide will suffer less in the heat. Your in Louisiana... check the history on your local markets. They should have a pretty good rundown of them sorted for color in general too. I figure a black hide is going to average at least .15 - .20 more, at least.

What RDFF said . Go to a couple of local sale barns and see and maybe ask some of the old coggers sitting around which does best . My son and I have about 18 Hereford and Hereford cross cows . We use only Purebred black Angus bulls . Our black baldie calves bring better than our solid black . We use to take a beating on anything red or spotted. In N Alabama it's what does the best ! Picture is a new baldie bull out of a registered Hereford cow .EFFE5AF5-8167-426C-B359-CE64C23763BB.jpeg