Hay Calculations

Help Support CattleToday:

skyhightree1

Reaction score
Does anyone use calculations to determine exactly how much hey they need for the winter months ? I am managing 35 head this winter and have no clue how much I will actually need. I was thinking of baling most in square bales so there isn't alot of waste and easier to store but I do have a round baler that bales 5x5 bales that are around 600 lbs im guessing. Does anyone have any mathematics to determine what you need? I hope this isn't a stupid question to ask.. If it is be nice please im still learning.

Figure 3% of your cattle weight times how many days you will feed. 35 one thousand lb cows will be 35000 lbs of cattle wt x 3% == 1050 lbs of hay daily x number of days to feed, this get you close to how much hay you will need.

It really depends on how cold it gets in your area .how long you feed etc . i usually figure 1 4x5 bale per .30 head a day for 120 days

Thanks everyone I appreciate all your help. I unfortunately didnt learn all there is to learn from my grandpa before he passed so I am trying to do as much as I can on my own and definately with help from this site.... I greatly appreciate everyones kindness and imput on things...

Useful to remember to include storage losses and feeding losses as well.

The last owner I was working for could not get this, and then wondered why there was always lower gains, or a short fall in feed.

I'm an hour from you, if you have any area specific questions please feel free to pm me.