The last half acre

Help Support CattleToday:

Shaping up like the last 2 years. A little warm spell in February then mid March and April when the grass is supposed to be getting rolling it will be cold and dry. All this arse deep mud we have will be wasted as the water will be gone from it before the grass uses it. Everybody here use March 15th to April 1 as the cutoff thinking they will have grass by then. April 15th is usually more realistic and May 1 til it really has some punch to it. IMO

I have fed some yes. 60 cows and 30 weaned calves I have probably fed 100 rolls. I fed when it was dry early this winter. My stockpile was less than half of normal.

I am already making plans for next winter. I hope to not feed more than 30 days next year.
Virginia has an extension program geared towards being able to graze 300 days a year. I told them I had been grazing more than that for several years. This fall I bought lots more cows than I should have with the thoughts that the price was going to be higher and it is. I have cows I bought in the fall for .35 that have gained weight and will bring .70 now. I been selling a few off the farm because everyone wants cows when they get high.

I am already making plans for next winter. I hope to not feed more than 30 days next year.
Virginia has an extension program geared towards being able to graze 300 days a year. I told them I had been grazing more than that for several years. This fall I bought lots more cows than I should have with the thoughts that the price was going to be higher and it is. I have cows I bought in the fall for .35 that have gained weight and will bring .70 now. I been selling a few off the farm because everyone wants cows when they get high.
300 plus grazing days is amazing Kenny. I'm curious to know your stocking rate? We graze about 250 days with 4-5 acres per cow here. I don't have any fescue though.