Cattle “first aid kit”

Help Support CattleToday:

ccattleco

Reaction score
What are some items you make sure to always have on hand? I am just starting out, so I'm trying to slowly build up my kit and making sure I have most of everything I need. What size and gauge syringes and needles are used most frequently?

epinephrine. may never happen, but if an animal every goes into anaphylaxis after being vaccinated, you'll be glad you have it.
Needles, I mostly use 18ga 1". For large thicker animals, you may want 16ga 1.5".
I'm a huge fan of auto syringes. I have 50cc for larger numbers of injections, and a smaller one for giving smaller volume injections (like 2cc).
Chain for pulling calves.
Latex gloves
Short section of garden hose for bloat

calf puller, electrolyte packets, you will always need them on a Sunday evening. keep a few around. antibiotics. other than orphan calves, cattle rarely need first aid, they are either well or dead. about the only things I have ever treated cows for were hard births, pinkeye, or objects (usually bones) stuck in a mouth. there have been an occasional poison weed (?) situations, where we tried to tube feed, but that was easily rigged with a funnel, some duct tape and a length of garden hose.

some kind of sling lift might be handy occasionally.

now if you want to need a real pile of veterinary first aid products, get a horse.

for most vaccinating I use 10 cc disposable syringes and 1 inch 18 gauge needles. but I use thick one-time black leg, for other vaccines you can get by with smaller gauge for sure. mine will work for IM penicillin too.

Hippie Rancher said:
Nesikep said:
LA200, iodine, vet wrap, obstetric lube, calf puller.. I need to get some needles and thread for stitching..

oh yeah a whatever you call it - giant needle, and OB tape for prolapses.

Last time I had to do it I had no supplies on hand.. ended up using a tire plug inserter tool sharpened up good.. hey, it worked!